Category Archives: Awards

Dr. Leatherwood selected as the 2019 Montague-CTE Scholar Winner

Dr. Jessica Leatherwood, assistant professor of equine science in the Department of Animal Science, has been selected by the Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) as a 2019 Montague-CTE Scholar. She was presented this honor on Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019. The Montague-CTE Scholar award is named in honor of Kenneth Montague ’37, a distinguished alumnus and outstanding trustee of Texas A&M University Development Foundation, who had a long and storied career in the Texas oil industry. Ken and Judy Montague endowed a generous gift in 1991 to benefit the… Read More →

Texas FFA honors Griffin and Riley with Honorary Lone Star Degree

Dr. Davey Griffin & Ray Riley were awarded honorary lone star degrees by the Texas FFA Association at their annual convention, held in Fort Worth on July 15-19, 2019. Each year, the association honors those who have rendered meritorious service to agricultural education and the FFA. Each year, local chapters honor school officials, local business owners, farmers, parents and alumni to receive the honorary chapter degree. However, a select few are chosen to receive the highest degree of honorary membership which can be bestowed at the state level… Read More →

Grants awarded to AgriLife Extension for sheep, goat genetic advancements

SAN ANGELO — The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in San Angelo has been awarded a trio of grants totaling over $136,000 to further develop research and educational outreach projects related to improving sheep and goat production in Texas. Although it is the largest sheep and goat producing state in terms of numbers, Texas has not widely adopted the genetic technology proven to improve the health and productivity of small ruminants, according to AgriLife Extension specialists. Dr. Reid Redden, AgriLife Extension sheep and goat specialist, and Jake Thorne,… Read More →

Congratulations Dr. Brittni Littlejohn

Dr. Brittni P. Littlejohn is the recipient of the 2019 ASAS Agri-King Outstanding Animal Science Graduate Student Award, presented to her Thursday, July 10, during the Physiology and Endocrinology Session II, at the 2019 ASAS-CSAS Annual Meeting held in Austin, Texas. Dr. Brittni P. Littlejohn is a Postdoctoral Associate in the Department of Animal and Dairy Sciences at Mississippi State University. She earned a B.S. (2012) in Animal Science, as well as a M.S. (2014) and a Ph.D. (2018) degree in Physiology of Reproduction at Texas A&M University…. Read More →

Joel Cowley awarded the 2019 Outstanding Alumni

By Kaitlyn Harkin Joel Cowley was presented with the 2019 Outstanding Alumni Award during the Department of Animal Science External Awards Program held Tuesday, April 30, 2019. The award was presented to Cowley by Dr. Chris Skaggs, San Antonio Livestock Exposition Chair in Animal Science and Associate Dean for Student Development of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. The Animal Science Outstanding Alumni Award recognizes a former student of the Department of Animal Science at Texas A&M University who has built a distinguished career in animal science…. Read More →

2019 Outstanding Young Alumni Winner Dr. Nicole Sanchez

By Kaitlyn Harkin Dr. Nicole Burdick Sanchez received the 2019 Outstanding Young Alumni Award during the Department of Animal Science External Awards Program on April 30, 2019. The award was presented to Sanchez by Texas A&M AgriLife Research Faculty Fellow Dr. Thomas Welsh. Sanchez is originally from Ontario, Canada and grew up in Corpus Christi, Texas. As an undergraduate student at Texas A&M University-Kingsville, Sanchez participated in undergraduate research for 3.5 years under Dr. Jamie Laurenz, while also being an active member of the Javelina Marching Band and… Read More →

Dr. Larry L. Boleman inducted into the ANSC Hall of Fame

By Maggie Berger COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Larry L. Boleman was inducted into the Animal Science Hall of Fame on Tuesday, April 30, 2019, during the Department of Animal Science awards banquet. Dr. Joe Paschal, professor and Extension livestock specialist, located in Corpus Christi presented the award. Boleman’s passion for agriculture and the cattle industry started at an early age. “I started buying, feeding and selling dairy calves when I was six or seven,” he said. In high school, he participated in the FFA and had an agriculture… Read More →

Students, staff, faculty recognized at annual awards banquet

On Tuesday, April 30, 2019, the Department of Animal Science held their annual awards banquet. This event is a celebration of students, staff, faculty, alumni and friends who have made significant contributions to the Department of Animal Science at Texas A&M University and the field of Animal Science. The following students, staff, and faculty were recognized at the event. Hillary Martinez Z.L. Carpenter Outstanding Graduate Student Award in Meat Science Martinez is a PhD student studying under Dr. Rhonda Miller. Her research focuses on evaluating human emotions using… Read More →

Salvato receives President’s Award for Advising

Amber Salvato, academic advisor III in the Department of Animal Science, was awarded the President’s Award for Advising during an awards ceremony held Thursday, May 2, 2019. Noting that good academic advisors are critical to student success, the President’s Award for Academic Advising is presented to individuals who exemplify the qualities and practices of exceptional academic advising. Advisors receiving this award are distinguished from among their talented peers.  Recipients exhibit, among other qualities, strong interpersonal skills; caring, helpful attitudes; a mastery of institutional regulations, policies, and procedures; ability… Read More →

Former student elected to National Academy of Sciences

Dr. Thomas Spencer, a former student of the department, was recently elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Election to membership in the NAS is considered one of the highest honors a U.S. scientist can receive. The NAS is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers… Read More →