About the Department of Animal Science

The Board of Directors of the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas initiated the development of the Animal Husbandry Department in 1903. In 1965, the department became more encompassing and was renamed the Department of Animal Science.

Today, the Department of Animal Science at Texas A&M University has achieved national and international prominence as the largest and most complex department of animal science in the nation. As part of its land grant mission, the Animal Science Department strives to meet the needs of all citizens by providing outstanding teaching, research and extension programs.

Currently, disciplines within the department include reproductive physiology, animal breeding and genetics, food science, microbiology, equine science, dairy science, animal nutrition and meat science. The department responds to the Texas animal industry through research and education programs in equine, beef, dairy, swine, sheep and goats.

The mission of the Department of Animal Science is to improve lives through discovery, integration, dissemination and application of science-based knowledge of animals and animal products.

Comments are closed.