Animal Science faculty, students honored by college

By Victoria Pilger

COLLEGE STATION – Several faculty and students in the Department of Animal Science were recognized at the 2012 College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Awards Ceremony held at the AgriLife Center on September 12, 2012.

Dr. Mark Hussey, vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences, welcomed faculty, students and staff members to join him in recognizing the achievements of many individuals within the College including Michelle Bedenbaugh, Kelly Winsco and Dr. Nancy Ing from the animal science department.

Bedenbaugh, one of three students to receive an award, was presented the Undergraduate Research Award for her efforts in physiology of reproduction. She graduated in the spring of 2012 with a bachelor’s degree in Animal Science, summa cum laude honors and completed the honors undergraduate research fellows program with a thesis in the physiology of reproduction. Bedenbaugh pursued a sophisticated line of research and balanced her bench time with leadership in student organizations.

Her mentor noted that, “the quality of her research was comparable to that of advanced graduate students in our group.” Bedenbaugh is currently a graduate student in the animal science department.

Winsco received the Graduate Teaching Award for her efforts in student success in the classroom. As a doctoral candidate in the Department of Animal Science, Wincso taught more than 900 students in just five years. She also has won both departmental and university teaching awards. Winsco, who will complete her doctoral degree this fall, has already accepted a position as assistant professor in the agricultural science department at Truman State University.

Dr. Nancy Ing, an associate professor in the Department of Animal Science, was presented the Faculty Mentoring Dean’s Outstanding Achievement Award. Ing is the organizer of the Agriculture Women Excited to Share Opinions, Mentoring and Experience (also known as AWESOME). The group is funded by a mini-grant that Ing obtained with her co-PI from the ADVANCE program. She has demonstrated passion for bringing together and developing faculty in our college and across campus. As one nominator wrote, “this is a faculty member who deserves recognition for years of dedication mentoring women faculty members.”

In addition to the award presentation, many faculty members were recognized for their recent promotions in rank. Professors that advanced from assistant professor to associate professor with tenure include Dr. Marcel Amstalden, Dr. Clay Cavinder, Dr. Josie Coverdale, Dr. Penny Riggs and Dr. Tryon Wickersham. In addition, Dr. Kerri Harris was granted tenure. Brant Poe was welcomed into the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences as one of the nine new faculty members. Poe is a lecturer for three animal science courses and coordinates the Texas A&M Livestock Judging Team.


Victoria Pilger is a sophomore Animal Science major, Agriculture Economics minor from Bryan, Texas.

For more information regarding news from the Department of Animal Science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Texas A&M University, please contact Courtney Coufal at or (979) 845-1542.

Comments are closed.