Department of Animal Science hosts holiday luncheon and awards ceremony

COLLEGE STATION — The Department of Animal Science held its annual Holiday Luncheon and Awards Ceremony on Dec. 15 at the AgriLife Center.

Faculty, staff, retirees, graduate students, and student workers gathered for a barbecue brisket and chicken meal, holiday basket giveaways, a presentation of 2011 departmental news highlights and departmental award announcements.

The 2011 Outstanding Support Staff Award was presented to Kelli Kochan and Mandi Cockerham.

Kochan is a research associate in animal breeding and genetics. According to a nomination letter, “Kelli has become a go-to person for students from all three departments in Kleberg, as well as students from other departments. Kelli is a patient teacher, but she demands excellence and attention to detail. She is personable and has a great working relationship with other research staff in the building.”

Cockerham works as the information and technology associate. “Mandi has been with the department for a short period of time, but she has certainly made a huge impact. First and foremost, she is very knowledgeable in her field of work and if she does not know the answer to our question, she will find the answer,” stated one of the nominators.

Three faculty members also were recognized for their years of service to the university. Dr. Guoyao Wu, professor, University and AgriLife Research Faculty Fellow, was presented a service pin for 20 years of service; Dr. Martha Vogelsang, senior lecturer and equine science section leader, was recognized for 30 years of service; and Dr. Jeff Savell, regents professor and E.M. “Manny” Rosenthal Chair holder, was recognized for 35 years of service.

In addition, the Ronnie L. Edwards Graduate Teaching Award was presented to Jessica Lucia and Kelly Winsco. Two awards presented earlier in the week at the physiology of reproduction section holiday luncheon were also recognized and included Jennifer Thorson as recipient of the 2012 A.M. “Tony” Sorenson, Jr. Achievement Award and Bruna Alves as the recipient of the Mauro Procknor Memorial Award.


For more information regarding news from the Department of Animal Science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Texas A&M University, please contact Courtney Coufal at or (979) 845-1542.

Comments are closed.