Tag Archives: Workshops

Cattle producers can expect more volatility, supply fluctuations

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Joe Paschal, 361-265-9203, joe.pashcal@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ron Gill, 979-845-3579, r-gill1@tamu.edu Dr. Cliff Lamb, 979-845-1543, gclamb@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Volatility in the cattle market recently is a result of large supplies of beef and speculative investment in agricultural commodities, according to experts at the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association convention in San Antonio. The overall message was cattle producers should brace for continued swings in prices as beef cycles through the supply chain. “Obviously we’ve got a lot of meat to work through,”… Read More →

Texas A&M AgriLife sets inaugural Livestock Guardian Dog Field Day May 10 at Menard

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-657-47324, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu MENARD – Texas A&M AgriLife will conduct their first Livestock Guardian Dog Field Day on May 10 at Menard. “To my knowledge, this will be the first program devoted strictly to livestock guardian dogs that our sister agencies, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research, have conducted anywhere,” said Dr. Reid Redden, AgriLife Extension state sheep and goat specialist at San Angelo. “Both agencies… Read More →

Annual AgriLife ram test joins sheep, goat expo slated for Aug. 18-19

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO—Even after 70 years the annual Texas A&M AgriLife Ram Performance Test is not averse to change, organizers said. Instead of the traditional field day and sale of some of the top Rambouillet rams that  successfully completed the test, breeders this year opted to join the 2017 Texas Sheep and Goat Expo, a statewide industry event now in its third year. The expo, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service,… Read More →

Grass-fed beef conference scheduled May 2-3 in College Station

Production systems, nutrition, fabrication methods to be featured Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Ron Gill, 845-3579, rgill@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Consumer interest and demand for grass-fed beef continues, and beef producers can learn more about this aspect of production from pasture to plate during a May 2-3 conference at Texas A&M University in College Station. The conference will cover a broad range of important topics pertaining to grass-fed beef production and is open to both beef producers and consumers. “This comprehensive… Read More →

Spring Ranch Management University set for April 3-7 in College Station

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Larry Redmon, 979-845-4826, l-redmon@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Ranch Management University will be offered April 3-7, said Dr. Larry Redmon, Texas A&M University soil and crop sciences associate department head and Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program leader, College Station. Ranch Management University is held each spring and fall at the G. Rollie White Visitors’ Center, 7707 Raymond Stotzer Parkway on the Texas A&M campus in College Station. Registration is $500 and attendance is limited to… Read More →

Modest cattle market outlook projected at Milam County beef workshop

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jason Cleere, 979-845-6931, jjcleere@tamu.edu Dr. Jason Johnson, 254-968-4144, jason.johnson@ag.tamu.edu CAMERON – With outdoor temperatures struggling to stay above 20 degrees, the cold weather didn’t deter more than 140 beef cattle producers from hearing more about a modest cattle market outlook at the recent Central Texas Cow-Calf Clinic in Cameron. The clinic was hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in Bell, Burleson, Falls, Milam, Robertson and Williamson counties. The day-long program featured numerous presentations and demonstrations, plus an order-buyer… Read More →

Camp Brisket attracts legends of Texas barbecue

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jeff Savell, 979-845-3992, j-savell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – There was no shortage of beef nor legends of Texas barbecue at Camp Brisket held recently at Texas A&M University in College Station. Expert pitmasters from all over Texas gathered to teach backyard barbecue enthusiasts and restaurateurs how to better prepare Texas-style barbecue brisket. Because of the high demand, the event now enrolls participants through a lottery system. Camp Brisket is a partnership between Foodways Texas and the meat science section of the department… Read More →

Plans for third Texas Sheep and Goat Expo underway

Tentative August 18-19 dates set for statewide event Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Marvin Ensor, 325-653-4576, m-ensor@tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Wheels are in motion for a third Texas Sheep and Goat Expo based on  strong feedback from planners and participants of the Aug. 2016 event held at San Angelo’s Spur Arena, said the event’s chairman. Marvin Ensor, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service regional program leader at San Angelo, said a recent planning committee meeting confirmed the momentum remains high behind conducting a third such top-tier program. “AgriLife Extension’s Texas… Read More →

AgriLife sheep shearing and wool classing schools set Jan. 3-5 in San Angelo

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ronald Pope, 325-653-4576, Ronald.Pope@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Texas A&M AgriLife will conduct two wool production educational schools Jan. 3-5 at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center north of San Angelo on U.S. Highway 87. “We are very excited to be hosting the Texas A&M AgriLife Shearing and Classing Schools again this year,” said Dr. Reid Redden, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state sheep and goat specialist at San Angelo. “These sessions are designed to train the next… Read More →

Food Safety Training Offered to Industry at Texas A&M University

Media contact: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – A Food Safety Preventive Controls for Human Foods workshop covering new requirements for members of the food processing industry is scheduled Dec. 19-21 at the Kleberg Animal and Food Sciences Center at Texas A&M University in College Station. Texas A&M AgriLife food safety specialist Dr. Matthew Taylor is leading the workshop. “This curriculum is the only one recognized by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for its adherence to the final rule requirements,” Taylor said. “Completion of the curriculum… Read More →