Tag Archives: Ray Riley

Food diversity studies give Aggies taste of different cultures, religions

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Jeff Savell, 979-845-3992, j-savell@tamu.edu Ray Riley, 979-845-5651, r-riley@tamu.edu Dr. Mian Riaz, 979-845-2774, mnriaz@tamu.edu Dr. Stephen Talcott, 979-862-4056, stalcott@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Students at Texas A&M University in College Station are getting a taste of other cultures by learning about diverse foods, including those considered “fitting and proper” for various religious and ethnic groups. “Kosher and halal are terms that apply to foods deemed acceptable to and properly prepared for adherents to Jewish and Muslim faiths, respectively,” said Dr. Jeff Savell, distinguished professor of animal science, Texas… Read More →

SXSW BBQ Panel Recap

Texas A&M’s South by Southwest panels look to the future Aggie offerings delve into the scientific issues behind human rights, health care…and BBQ By Steve Kuhlmann, steve.kuhlmann@theeagle.com Barbecue enthusiasts were treated to a more than 45-minute panel with the “brisketeers” — Texas A&M professor Jeff Savell, AgriLife Extension meat specialist Davey Griffin and Rosenthal Meat Center manager Ray Riley — and author and cook Jess Pryles, who shared with the audience some of the principles they look for in meat and how their interest has built a community… Read More →