Category Archives: AgriLife Research

Perfecting the beef palatability puzzle

Tackling and taming tenderness in beef cuts has put the industry on the inside track Writer: Jeff Savell, 979-845-3992, j-savell@tamu.edu Research suggests that a 25-year effort by the beef industry to improve beef palatability is on the right path. As we look at the evidence, we see that beef in the 21st century is different from the product in the 1990s, and in some very positive ways. In terms of tenderness, in fact, we might have found the sweet spot — or at least part of it. The… Read More →

AgriLife livestock guardian dog study numbers are in

Results show promise for ancient predator control method for sheep, goats Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, Reid.Redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – The numbers are in from a yearlong experiment pitting 18 inexperienced young livestock guardian dogs and their neophyte dog-handling owners against a hoard of native sheep and goat predators ranging over thousands of West Texas acres. “Predation is and always has been one of the most significant problems in the sheep and goat industry in Texas,” said Dr. Reid Redden, Texas A&M AgriLife… Read More →

Cattle producers can expect more volatility, supply fluctuations

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Joe Paschal, 361-265-9203, joe.pashcal@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ron Gill, 979-845-3579, r-gill1@tamu.edu Dr. Cliff Lamb, 979-845-1543, gclamb@tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – Volatility in the cattle market recently is a result of large supplies of beef and speculative investment in agricultural commodities, according to experts at the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association convention in San Antonio. The overall message was cattle producers should brace for continued swings in prices as beef cycles through the supply chain. “Obviously we’ve got a lot of meat to work through,”… Read More →

Behavior patterns indicators of illness onset in cattle

AgriLife Research developing early warning system for bovine respiratory disease Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Bill Pinchak, 940-552-9941, bpinchak@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists are developing an early warning system for pen riders or animal care providers to more efficiently identify and treat cattle for bovine respiratory disease. Dr. Bill Pinchak in Vernon and Dr. Gordon Carstens in College Station, both AgriLife Research animal nutritionists, have been evaluating the relationships of animal behavior in confined animal feeding operations to the onset of sickness. Along… Read More →

Texas A&M AgriLife sets inaugural Livestock Guardian Dog Field Day May 10 at Menard

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-657-47324, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu Lisa Brown, 325-396-4787, lbrown@ag.tamu.edu Dr. John Walker, 325-653-4576, jwalker@ag.tamu.edu MENARD – Texas A&M AgriLife will conduct their first Livestock Guardian Dog Field Day on May 10 at Menard. “To my knowledge, this will be the first program devoted strictly to livestock guardian dogs that our sister agencies, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M AgriLife Research, have conducted anywhere,” said Dr. Reid Redden, AgriLife Extension state sheep and goat specialist at San Angelo. “Both agencies… Read More →

AgriLife Research projects evaluate feeder cattle on yeast-grain diet

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Luis Tedeschi, 979-845-1541, luis.tedeschi@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Yeast is a staple ingredient found in many breads, but it also could play a major role in feeding cattle and producing higher quality beef. Dr. Luis Tedeschi, Texas A&M AgriLife Research Faculty Fellow, and graduate student Whitney Crossland are studying the effects of yeast as part of an extensive fed-cattle study. The study is in partnership with AB Vista of the United Kingdom. The goal of the project is to determine if yeast… Read More →

Annual AgriLife ram test joins sheep, goat expo slated for Aug. 18-19

Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dan Waldron, 325-653-4576, d-waldron@tamu.edu Dr. Reid Redden, 325-653-4576, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO—Even after 70 years the annual Texas A&M AgriLife Ram Performance Test is not averse to change, organizers said. Instead of the traditional field day and sale of some of the top Rambouillet rams that  successfully completed the test, breeders this year opted to join the 2017 Texas Sheep and Goat Expo, a statewide industry event now in its third year. The expo, conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service,… Read More →

AgriLife Research physiologist Randel receives lectureship honor

Writer: Adam Russell, 903-8340-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Ron Randel, 903-834-6191, ron.randel@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON – The American Society of Animal Science, Southern Section, has announced an annual lectureship named for Dr. Ronald Randel, Texas A&M AgriLife Research physiologist, Overton. The society’s executive committee established the annual invited lectureship for its Physiology Section. The first of the lectures bearing Randel’s name will be presented during its annual meeting scheduled Feb. 4-7 in Franklin, Tennessee. “Dr. Randel’s contributions to the field of animal physiology and endocrinology have globally benefitted animal agriculture,” said… Read More →

Texas A&M AgriLife presents Vice Chancellor Award in Excellence honors

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Vice Chancellor’s Awards in Excellence honors were presented to several statewide faculty and staff of Texas A&M AgriLife during a ceremony Jan. 9 on the Texas A&M University campus in College Station. The awards were given to 14 individuals and three teams with a total of 16 members. Officials said the awards program was established in 1980 to recognize “the commitment and outstanding contributions of faculty and staff across Texas A&M AgriLife.” “These awards represent the highest level of achievement… Read More →

Tedeschi, Tomberlin earn Faculty Fellow distinction at Texas A&M AgriLife conference

Contact: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Two Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists were named Faculty Fellow during the 2017 Texas A&M AgriLife Conference in College Station. The Faculty Fellow title given to Dr. Luis Tedeschi and Dr. Jeffery Tomberlin are permanent and become a part of the individual’s title. AgriLife Research established the Faculty Fellows Program in 1998 to acknowledge and reward exceptional research faculty within the agency. “Working in disparate fields — animal science and entomology — both Dr. Tedeschi and Dr. Tomberlin have made… Read More →