Texas A&M AgriLife presents Vice Chancellor Award in Excellence honors

Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu

COLLEGE STATION – Vice Chancellor’s Awards in Excellence honors were presented to several statewide faculty and staff of Texas A&M AgriLife during a ceremony Jan. 9 on the Texas A&M University campus in College Station.

The awards were given to 14 individuals and three teams with a total of 16 members. Officials said the awards program was established in 1980 to recognize “the commitment and outstanding contributions of faculty and staff across Texas A&M AgriLife.”

“These awards represent the highest level of achievement for our organization and recognize a commitment to excellence and to the land-grant mission of teaching, research, Extension and service.  I’m very proud of the accomplishments of our faculty, staff and students,” said Dr. Mark Hussey, vice chancellor and dean of agriculture and life sciences at Texas A&M.

The categories, names of recipients and name of specific award were:

— Teaching

Dr. Merwyn “Mort” Kothmann, professor and associate department head for undergraduate programs, Texas A&M University department of ecosystem science and management, College Station, Teaching; and Amanda N. Bradbery, graduate teaching assistant, Texas A&M department of animal science, College Station, Graduate Student Teaching.

— Research

Dr. Kirk O. Winemiller, Regents Professor, Texas A&M department of wildlife and fisheries sciences, College Station, Research; and William B. Smith. graduate research assistant, Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Overton, Graduate Student Research.

— Extension Education

Scott Strawn, program leader, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service–agriculture and natural resources, Ochiltree County, County Extension Agent; and Dr. Jason J. Cleere, AgriLife Extension beef cattle specialist, College Station,Extension Specialist/Program Specialist Serving State or Region.

— Service

Dr. Christopher B. Edgar, forest resource analyst, Texas A&M Forest Service, College Station, Public Service in Forestry; and Sonia Lingsweiler, bacteriology section head, Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory, College Station, Diagnostic Services.

— Special Services

Dr. Thomas B. Hairgrove, AgriLife Extension animal science specialist, College Station.

— Staff

Robert L. Pottberg, administrative services officer and building proctor, department of poultry science, College Station, Business and Operational Staff; Betty L. Cotton, assistant to the biochemistry and biophysics department head, College Station, Office and Administrative Staff; and Carlos Rodriguez, serology laboratory supervisor, Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory, College Station, Technical and Programmatic Staff.

— Diversity

Food Insecure Families in Hall County, AgriLife Extension including

Josh Brooks, county Extension agent–agriculture and natural resources, Hall County; Dr. Angela Burkham, state and regional program leader–family and consumer sciences,Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Amarillo; Molly Forman, county Extension agent–family and consumer sciences, Briscoe and Hall counties; and Renda Nelson, state program director–Better Living for Texans, Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Amarillo.

— International Involvement

Dr. Thomas E. Lacher Jr., professor, Texas A&M department of wildlife and fisheries sciences, College Station.

— Administration

Dr. Dan Lineberger, Texas A&M horticultural sciences department head, College Station.

— Collaboration

Green Ambassadors, Texas A&M Forest Service including Dr. Tamberly D. Conway

partnerships, diversity and inclusion specialist, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, Washington, D.C.; Juan Elizondo and David Salazar, both education, career, and technical educator in agriculture, food and natural resources, The Green Institute at Furr High School, Houston Independent School District; and John Warner, urban district forester, and Nalleli Hidalgo, community outreach, both with Texas A&M Forest Service.

— Team

Texas Superstar Selection Committee including Dr. Mike Arnold, Texas A&M professor and department of horticultural sciences, College Station; Dr. Tim Davis, professor and regional director for Asia, Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture, College Station; Lineberger; Dr. Cynthia McKenney, Rockwell Professor and associate chair, Texas Tech University, Lubbock; Dr. Brent Pemberton, Texas A&M Regents Fellow, Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Overton; David Rodriguez, county Extension agent–horticulture, San Antonio; and Dr. Larry Stein, AgriLife Extension horticulture specialist and associate horticultural sciences department head,Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Uvalde.


via source AgriLife TODAY | Texas A&M AgriLife presents Vice Chancellor Award in Excellence honors

For more information regarding news from the Department of Animal Science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Texas A&M University, please contact Maggie Tucker at maggie.tucker@tamu.edu or (979) 845-1542.

Comments are closed.