Ag Convocation 2016

The Department of Animal Science is proud of our students and faculty that were recognized at the 2016 College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Ag Convocation at the Thomas G. Hildebrand, DVM ’56 Equine Complex held in conjunction with Parents’ Weekend April 8-10. This banquet recognizes and celebrates exemplary students within the College while also thanking all of those who have made a positive impact on their college education.


2016 Alpha Zeta Outstanding Student Award Recipients:

Each year, departments in the College select their outstanding freshman, sophomore and junior. Then the Alpha Zeta officer team reviews the applications and interviews the finalists for the award.

Outstanding Freshman: Kendall Langum, Nutrition and Food Science

Outstanding Sophomore: Caralie Brewer, Plant Pathology and Microbiology

Outstanding Junior: Matthew Lewis, Animal Science

2016 Thomas S. Gathright Academic Excellence Award Recipients:

The Thomas S. Gathright Academic Excellence Awards are given to one sophomore, junior and senior in each college who have demonstrated superior academic performance and excellence in extracurricular involvement.

Callan Young, Nutritional Sciences

Jon Ellison, Agricultural Economics

Joelle Foster, Animal Science

Senior Merit Award Recipients:

The College has given Senior Merit Awards for over 50 years. To be eligible for the award, students must be projected to graduate during the 2016 calendar year. The criteria for the awards are leadership, scholarship, and service on the department, college and university levels. This award is the highest award given to an undergraduate by the College.

Erin Adkison, Jesse Anderson, Brooke Bodle, Kyle Brown, Katharine Carter, Thadrick Douglass, Sierra Francis, Kelli Franks, Kallie Fuchs, Hunter Greer, Aaron Griffin, Andrew Gustafson, Jessica Gwinn, Jeremy Hewlett, Sarah Hollis, Madilyn Holmes, Madeline Howe, Jack Huey, Monique Kolander, Kathryn Langford, Sonja Loy, Elijah McKinney, Cody Nedbalek, Kolton Page, Alexandria Payne, Wenqing Qu, Blake Ramsey, Keith Read, Amanda Spacek, Emily Von Edwins, Erika Wiggs, Sherri Yeates, and Callan Young.

dunlap_awardHonor Professor Award Recipient:

Dr. Kathrin Dunlap, Assistant Professor, Physiology of Reproduction, Department of Animal Science

savell awardGail W. and David P. Marion ’65 Teaching Award Recipient:

In 2012, the Gail W. and David P. Marion ’65 Teaching Award was established in memory of Dr. Richard C. Potts to recognize a faculty member in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences who teaches and mentors freshman and sophomore students and is an effective communicator.

Dr. Jeff Savell, University Distinguished Professor, Meat Science, Department of Animal Science


via source College of Agriculture and Life Sciences  |  Ag Convocation 2016

For more information regarding news from the Department of Animal Science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Texas A&M University, please contact Maggie Tucker at or (979) 845-1542.

Comments are closed.