Texas A&M Judging Teams Do Well in San Antonio

Livestock Judging Team finishes at topSAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M Livestock Judging Team edged out Texas Tech University for a first place finish at the San Antonio Collegiate Livestock Judging Contest on Feb. 19, 2011, in San Antonio.

Angelo State University, Kansas State University and Sam Houston State University rounded out the top five.

Texas A&M won high team in cattle, tied for high team in reasons and finished second high team in sheep and swine.

In individual competition, Caleb Boardman from Powell, Wyo., took high overall individual and Cody Marburger from Round Top tied for second high overall.

Other individual placings include:

  • Boardman – second in reasons and sheep, fifth in hogs, eighth in cattle;
  • Marburger – first in cattle, third in reasons, ninth in hogs;
  • Marty Gifford from Cowley, Wyo. – tenth high overall, fifth in reasons, ninth in sheep and tenth in swine;
  • John Mayer from Round Top – tenth in cattle;
  • Canaan Driebrodt from New Braunfels – sixth in cattle;
  • Erich Schatte from Giddings – second in goats;
  • Bethanie Yeaman from Rock Springs – tenth in sheep.

Team members also are Ryan Smoes of Hamilton, Mich.; Lance Bauer from Ingram; Brad Bundage from Cameron, Mo.; Mike Helle from Edinburg; C.J. Mabry from Port Lavaca; Robert Oestrich from New Braunfels; Wes Regmund from Llano; Jacob Shaw from Smyer; T.J. Skinner of Liberal, Kan.; and Cody Trimble from Knox City.

The team is coached by Jake Franke. Assistant coaches are Carl Muntean, Cody Sloan and Jake Thorne.

Wool Judging Team finishes in second

SAN ANTONIO — The Texas A&M Wool Judging Team – Grey missed first place by 20 points bringing home second place from the Collegiate Wool Judging Contest held at the San Antonio Livestock Show and Rodeo on Feb. 12, 2011 in San Antonio.

Texas A&M – Maroon and Texas A&M – White teams finished in fourth and fifth places overall. Angelo State University was first and Texas Tech University – Black was third.

In grading, the Aggie teams placed second, third and fourth; and in reasons, Texas A&M finished sixth, seventh and eighth.

In individual competition, Dillon Garr from Fayetteville, Ark., won fourth high overall, seventh in grading, and fifth in reasons; Konni Kelso from Seguin took fifth high overall and second in reasons; Brittni Littlejoin from Longview won sixth high overall and first in grading; and Chloe Geye from Rising Star was tenth in grading.

Team members also include Katie Moore from Richmond; Lea Luensmann from Zuehl; Taylor Adcock from Fairfield; Jacob Brown from Bryan; Meredith Earwood from Sonora; Brent Hale from Dayton; Whitley James from George West; William Whitworth from Junction; Lexus Weinheimer from Stonewall; and Misty Jackson from Sumner.

Dr. Shawn Ramsey is the faculty coach/coordinator and Kim Hardin is the coach. Assistant coaches are Claire Luensmann, Kenton Kirkpatrick and Carl Muntean.


Comments are closed.