Texas A&M judging teams compete in Denver

Livestock Judging Team | Wool Judging Team | Meat Judging Team

Jan. 24, 2011

Livestock Judging Team

DENVER – The 2011 Texas A&M Livestock Judging Team swept their first contest of the year beating second place Texas Tech University by 51 points at the National Western Stock Show Jan. 14 & 15 in Denver, Colo. TAMU brought home high team overall, reasons, and sheep and goats, along with second high team in hogs and third in cattle.

Caleb Boardman of Powell, Wyo., won reserve champion individual overall, second in sheep and goats, fifth in reasons, and seventh in cattle. Cody Marburger of Round Top placed fourth high individual overall, third in hogs and reasons and sixth in sheep and goats. Ryan Smoes of Hamilton, Mich., finished seventh high individual overall, hogs and reasons, and ninth in cattle.

The Livestock Judging Team also competed in the Carload Contest at the National Western Stock Show and won fourth high team overall. Canaan Dreibrodt of New Braunfels placed third high individual.

Team members also include Lance Bauer of Ingram; Brad Brundage of Cameron, Mo.; Marty Gifford of Cowley, Wyo.; Mike Helle of Edinburg; C.J. Mabry of Port Lavaca; John Mayer of Round Top; Robert Oestrich of New Braunfels; Wes Regmund of Llano; Erich Schatte of Giddings; Jacob Shaw of Smyer; T.J. Skinner of Liberal, Kan.; Cody Trimble of Knox City; and Bethanie Yeaman of Rock Springs.  The team is coached by Jake Franke. Assistant coaches are Carl Muntean, Cody Sloan and Jake Thorne.


Wool Judging Team

DENVER — The 2011 Texas A&M Wool Judging Team traveled to Laramie, Wyo., for practice before heading to the National Western Stock Show in Denver on Jan. 14. Team member Katie Moore of Richmond won high individual overall and reasons. Lea Luensmann placed fourth in reasons.

Team members also include Taylor Adcock of Fairfield; Jacob Brown of Bryan; Meredith Earwood of Sonora; Dillon Garr of Fayetteville, Ark.; Chloe Geye of Rising Star; Brent Hale of Dayton; Whitley James of George West; Konni Kelso of Seguin; Brittni Littlejohn of Longview; William Whitworth of Junction; and Lexus Weinheimer of Stonewall. Dr. Shawn Ramsey is the faculty coach/coordinator and Kim Hardan is the coach. Assistant coaches are Claire Luensmann, Kenton Kirkpatrick and Carl Muntean.


Meat Judging Team

GREELEY — The 2011 Texas A&M Meat Judging Team finished in seventh place at competition held at JBS Swift in Greeley, Colo. The awards were presented at the National Western Stock Show in Denver. Nathan Labus of Poth placed fourth high individual in placings.

Team members also include Garrett Cline of Morgan; Rachel Glascock of Pilot Point; Kylie Jones of Cowley, Wyo.; Haley Kelley of Franklin; Jimmie Natho of Runge; Kyle Phillips of Vidor; and Jake Reed of Copperas Cove. The team is coached by Amanda Smith. Dr. Davey Griffin is team coordinator.

Comments are closed.