COALS Convocation Awards

COLLEGE STATION — Several students from the Department of Animal Science were honored at the 2010 College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Convocation held at the Briarcrest Country Club on April 17, 2010.Senior Merit AwardThe Senior Merit Award, the highest award bestowed to undergraduate students by the College, was presented to Aaron Jennings of Fredonia; Amanda Smith of Bryan, Lindsay Swick of Franklin; Nicole Kenney of Enfield, Conn.; Stephanie Burns of San Antonio; and Gabriela Santistevan of Santa Cruz, Bolivia, a double major in animal science and agricultural economics.To be eligible for this award, students must have completed over 95 hours and be projected to graduate during the 2010 calendar year. Students are selected based on academics; Texas A&M University leadership activities; community involvement, professional and civic activities; employment, internship and research; and a written essay.

Jennings was a member of the Texas A&M All American Livestock Judging Team, the Wool Judging Team and the Saddle & Sirloin Club, served as vice president of finance for the COALS Student Council, and was named as a Texas A&M President’s Endowed Scholarship recipient. He worked as a sales and research intern for Elanco Animal Health in Greenfield, Ind. Upon graduation, Jennings plans to attend graduate school and study meat and muscle biology.

Smith served as president of the Saddle & Sirloin Club, and was a member of the COALS Student Council, the Department of Animal Science Aggie REPS and the Meats Judging Team where she also served as a coach for the Brazos County 4-H Meats Judging Team. Smith also was one of 47 Aggies selected as Who’s Who Among College Students. Upon graduation, Smith hopes to work for a branded beef program.

Swick was a member of the Livestock Judging Team, Texas Collegiate 4-H and the Texas A&M University Honors Program. She was named a 2009 Intercollegiate Livestock Judging Coaches Association Senior College All-American and a Texas A&M Academic Excellence Scholar. Upon graduation, Swick will attend graduate school to pursue a master’s degree in agricultural communications.

Kenney was a member of the Texas A&M Wool and Horse Evaluation Teams, a member of the COALS Student Council and served as an Aggie REP for the department. In addition, she participated in the Undergraduate Research Scholars Program, received her American FFA Degree in 2009 and was awarded the All-American Horse Judging Award in January 2010. Upon graduation, Kenney plans to attend graduate school and study nutrition.

Burns served as president and CEO of the Memorial Student Center, a Maroon Coat through the Texas A&M Foundation, and is a member of Phi Kappa Phi. She also served as an equine undergraduate research student and assistant, was named a National Society of Collegiate Scholar, as well as awarded the Buck Weirus Spirit Award in April 2009. Upon graduation, Burns will spend two years in the Teach For America Program.

Santistevan served as the vice president of the Golden Key International Honor Society, was a member of the COALS Student Council, and also served as a student ambassador for the 2009 China-US Relations Conference in Beijing. Upon graduation, she plans to move back to Bolivia to spread the awareness of agriculture.

Outstanding Freshman Award

The Outstanding Freshman Award was presented to animal science major Katie Muehlstein of Kerrville in recognition of an outstanding record of academic achievement and distinguished leadership.

Muehlstein is a member of the Texas A&M Wool Judging Team, the Saddle & Sirloin Club and Collegiate 4-H. She also is a part of MSC Fish, a select group of freshmen who are dedicated to leadership and service projects throughout the community.


Top photo caption: Recipients of the 2010 Senior Merit Award include animal science students (holding certificates, from left) Nicole Kenney, Amanda Smith, Aaron Jennings, Lindsay Swick and Gabriela Santistevan. Also pictured is (left) Donna Witt, Kelly Essler, Dr. Gary Acuff, Dr. Shawn Ramsey and Dr. Glenn Holub. Not pictured is Stephanie Burns.

Bottom photo caption: Katie Muehlstein, animal science major, received the Outstanding Freshman Award at the COALS Convocation. She is pictured here with Dr. Shawn Ramsey.

Comments are closed.